delay= opcode in sample unit

Discussion on the SFZ implementation and opcodes available in the ARIA engine.

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv

kinwie
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:53 pm

delay= opcode in sample unit

Postby kinwie » Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:24 am

Hello,

The delay= opcode (v1) is in time/seconds unit,
Just want to know if there is other option or opcode to define it in sample unit?
I want to use it to nudge some room/ambience kick samples to minimize multi-mic phase.
I know I can convert the value from samples to seconds, but it could be just easier and faster with sample unit.

eric_telemaque
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:10 pm

Re: delay= opcode in sample unit

Postby eric_telemaque » Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:49 am

Hi kinwie,

There's no real equivalent to delay in samples unit.
But if your room/ambience samples still have a bit of silence before the transient, you can bring them closer to the close mic with the offset opcode which is in samples. This starts the playback at the sample point chosen. ( ex.: at note on, offset=44100 will start playback 1 second into the file. If it's a 44.1khz sample, of course)
Éric Patenaude,
Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.
http://www.plogue.com

kinwie
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: delay= opcode in sample unit

Postby kinwie » Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:33 am

Hello Eric,

Thanks for the suggestion.
Yes it is indeed works using offset= to nudge the room samples forward most of the time.
While the delay= opcode is for nudging the samples backward needed sometimes.
I just curious if there is counterpart of the offset= opcode in SFZ v2 but I guess no luck :(
So far I've used delay= by converting the samples unit into seconds.

One case example I've done with the free Strike Sound Home Kit, a good small rock drumkit.
Its samples are edited so neat but the kick OH and room samples a bit off-phase and there are no silence in front of the transient.
By nudging them backward bring the transient peak match the close kick.
The samples are 44.1 kHz and I delayed them by 99 samples and converting it to sample unit, result with : delay=0.002244
It's a nice number though, just need the calculator shortcut on desktop :lol:

kinwie
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: delay= opcode in sample unit

Postby kinwie » Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:15 am

@Eric

Btw, I have an extra question if you can advise.
I'm thinking to convert my AD drums samples to Flac to reduce Hard disk space used.
I'm a bit curious, if you can help me with a solid answer, is the flac quality is really the same as wav?
If I worried about the loss of sound quality, is it better just using the wav?

TIA


Return to “SFZ Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests