Sforzando crashes Windows 7 - cannot use it

Post your sforzando questions here

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv

Elena
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 5:46 pm

Sforzando crashes Windows 7 - cannot use it

Postby Elena » Sun Feb 04, 2018 10:10 am

Hi everybody, I am new,
is it possible at all that I am the only person experiencing this problem ? I checked for hints in the forum as well as in the various support sections without finding anything related (I apologize in advance in case I simply overlooked something)

My machine is Windows 7 Ultimate 64, Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, Terratec EWS Mic-2 Rack audio card with ASIO driver.
To date I've had no luck with Sforzando.
The VST (x64) crashes Reaper with the following error log as soon as I open the Sforzando plugin:

Nome evento problema: APPCRASH
Nome applicazione: reaper.exe
Versione applicazione: 5.6.2.0
Timestamp applicazione: 5a021771
Nome modulo con errori: aria_x64.dll
Versione modulo con errori: 1.9.3.3
Timestamp modulo con errori: 59f76591
Codice eccezione: c0000005
Offset eccezione: 00000000001ecf2b
Versione SO: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
ID impostazioni locali: 1040
Informazioni aggiuntive 1: 4158
Ulteriori informazioni 2: 4158af9b9bd76bfc647bc9f734773b9d
Ulteriori informazioni 3: a5a3
Ulteriori informazioni 4: a5a300632f9fd59bcaea9200427e3d66

The standalone version crashes aswell with the following error log:

Nome evento problema: APPCRASH
Nome applicazione: sforzando x64.exe
Versione applicazione: 1.6.0.5
Timestamp applicazione: 508e8d14
Nome modulo con errori: aria_x64.dll
Versione modulo con errori: 1.9.3.3
Timestamp modulo con errori: 59f76591
Codice eccezione: c0000005
Offset eccezione: 00000000001ecf2b
Versione SO: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
ID impostazioni locali: 1040
Informazioni aggiuntive 1: ba92
Ulteriori informazioni 2: ba92a64fc39faa472358a7b2c33b01ca
Ulteriori informazioni 3: fcbb
Ulteriori informazioni 4: fcbb3d9fdc106be25effd9ee23d48367

For a test, I also tried the x86 VST with Reaper, but in this case I get no crashes, just the Sforzando plugin opens with an empty, non-refreshing window.
I must precisate that *everything else is working fine on my setup*.
I must also specify that Alter Ego (I think it uses the Aria engine aswell ?) works without problems instead, despite the crash logs above seem to indicate aria_x64.dll as the source of troubles...

Any idea ??? Thank you a lot for any suggestions.

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9638
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Sforzando crashes Windows 7 - cannot use it

Postby seb@plogue » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:56 pm

If you get an empty UI in x86, this might be related to that, although I do not recall that it caused
a crash on x64.

https://www.plogue.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=8193

Elena
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Sforzando crashes Windows 7 - cannot use it

Postby Elena » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:37 am

Thanks for replying,
well actually I was suspecting something related to Windows 7 missing some updates or such, but I thought in that event the program should rather notify the user about some missing updates or components, and not so abruptly crash !
I will see if I can install that Platform update without problems and will let you know the outcome.

Elena
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Sforzando crashes Windows 7 - cannot use it

Postby Elena » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:01 am

Hi, I just wanted to add a big thank you !
I managed to installed the update you pointed out and now Sforzando finally works :)
Just, I would suggest you to either specify the need for this update in the manual/faq etc and/or to find a way for Sforzando not to crash but to rather inform the user to install this update !
Thank you again ! :)

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1574
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Sforzando crashes Windows 7 - cannot use it

Postby davidv » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:38 am

Elena wrote:Hi, I just wanted to add a big thank you !
I managed to installed the update you pointed out and now Sforzando finally works :)
Just, I would suggest you to either specify the need for this update in the manual/faq etc and/or to find a way for Sforzando not to crash but to rather inform the user to install this update !
Thank you again ! :)


Hi!
Only a handful of people have reported this, and most have either updated machines or are running W8 or 10.
Cheers
David Viens,
Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.
http://www.plogue.com


Return to “sforzando”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest