Suddenly loading ARIA fails - missing component.

Post your ARIA Engine questions here

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv

SysExJohn
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:04 am
Location: Betelgeuse, shoulder of Orion.
Contact:

Suddenly loading ARIA fails - missing component.

Postby SysExJohn » Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:02 am

I've been using the ARIA player since Garritan GPO4 came out.
I now have eight of the Garritan ARIA based libraries, but suddenly, after a hiatus due to illness, the ARIA player won't load, either stand alone or VST.
ErrorMesg.JPG
ErrorMesg.JPG (10.04 KiB) Viewed 142 times
.

I reinstalled both ARIA and the latest engine, same result.
So I un-installed both programs then re-installed them, same result.
I still use an ancient laptop with an E-MU cardbus interface to an E-MU 1616m, running XP. :-(
But it used to work just fine for what I need to do.

Immediately after the last attempt I took a log of what's happening which I've attached.

Can you be of any help please?
Many thanks,
Kind regards,
John G.
Attachments
Aria logs John.tar.gz
(8.29 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Garritan GPO4, Steinway lite, IO, JaBB3, CoMB2, World, Harps, GCPO, GPO5, CFX lite.

seb@plogue
Site Admin
Posts: 9638
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Suddenly loading ARIA fails - missing component.

Postby seb@plogue » Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:21 pm

From the logs, it looks like it cannot load the dll for ARIA. It is possible that 1.933 doesn't work on XP (that's not a test I can do outside the office) but
from it's not clear from the message.

The best solution for "right now" would probably be to revert back to the latest ARIA engine that is bundled with
one of the Garritan packages. Otherwise, you'll need to wait for us to take a look at it and probably provide you
with the last update that works on XP.

SysExJohn
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:04 am
Location: Betelgeuse, shoulder of Orion.
Contact:

Re: Suddenly loading ARIA fails - missing component.

Postby SysExJohn » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:07 am

Thanks Seb,

Crikey! that was quick, what wonderful support.
You might receive the same ticket via Garritan support, as I reported it there several days back ... then remembered here.

I think I've still got a copy of 1.9.1.6 engine, which worked okay, as I recall, on XP.
I'll uninstall and go to ARIA 1.872 plus the above.

I'll let you know how I get on.

Thanks again for the lightning fast response.

Kind regards,
John G.
Garritan GPO4, Steinway lite, IO, JaBB3, CoMB2, World, Harps, GCPO, GPO5, CFX lite.

SysExJohn
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:04 am
Location: Betelgeuse, shoulder of Orion.
Contact:

Re: Suddenly loading ARIA fails - missing component.

Postby SysExJohn » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:54 am

An update, Seb,

First I uninstalled the ARIA engine using unins000.exe but it didn't remove two of the dll's.
Next I uninstalled the ARIA player, which worked completely.

Reinstalled 1.872 and tried to load, but received the same message, "missing component".

So ...

I uninstalled again, but this time went into the Plogue, ARIA engine library and deleted the two dll's manually.
Then reinstalled the 1.872 ARIA player, and that was now able to load.
I installed engine 1.9.1.6 over the top, and that worked too.

So, it would appear that the engine 1.9.3.3 isn't compatible with XP RP3.
Additionally, the uninstall for the engine, if you've installed 1.9.3.3 erroneously, doesn't remove all the engine components.
There are two dll's that it leaves behind "aria_x86.dll" and "libsndfile_x86.dll", these currently need a physical file delete.

I now have a functioning ARIA player, Wahoo!

Thanks Seb, very much.
P.S. Long live Plogue.
Garritan GPO4, Steinway lite, IO, JaBB3, CoMB2, World, Harps, GCPO, GPO5, CFX lite.


Return to “ARIA Engine”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests