"decim" and "bitred" opcodes

Discussion on the SFZ implementation and opcodes available in the ARIA engine.

Moderators: eric_telemaque, davidv

KevinKevin
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:08 am

"decim" and "bitred" opcodes

Postby KevinKevin » Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:10 am

I see these listed as LFO destinations here:
http://www.sfzformat.com/index.php?title=LFO

Is there any way to use these?
I can put them in and Sforzando recognizes them, but I have no idea how to make them work.
The other opcodes listed there - _oncc, _stepcc and _smoothcc - are not recognized.

Are these unimplemented 2.0 effect opcodes?

From the "ARIA's unimplemented SFZ 2.0 opcodes" post:

<effect> unimplemented opcodes :
all effect types in use by Dimension and Cakewalk products,
we are instead using a "type=com.vendor.product" style logic using a currently private SDK.

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1590
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "decim" and "bitred" opcodes

Postby davidv » Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:09 am

Hi

Like all Cakewalk-specific effects they are not implemented since they are customs black box DSP units.
Imho should have never been in the spec. All effects should have been outside of it. (like we did)
David Viens,
Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.
http://www.plogue.com

KevinKevin
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:08 am

Re: "decim" and "bitred" opcodes

Postby KevinKevin » Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 pm

Got it!

Thanks David.

Cyberdyne387
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:27 pm

Re: "decim" and "bitred" opcodes

Postby Cyberdyne387 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:45 am

davidv wrote:Hi

Like all Cakewalk-specific effects they are not implemented since they are customs black box DSP units.
Imho should have never been in the spec. All effects should have been outside of it. (like we did)


That’s actually not entirely true about not being implemented, at least not with prior versions of the Aria Engine. There was a time when I was trying to play 16-bit audio to sound as if in chipsounds without playing two 8-bit samples together (an alternative I decided to stick with for now despite more CPU), and in the process, I confirmed that the decim opcode, at least, worked if you used “decim_cc”.

davidv
Site Admin
Posts: 1590
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:23 pm
Contact:

Re: "decim" and "bitred" opcodes

Postby davidv » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:29 am

Cyberdyne387 wrote: I confirmed that the decim opcode, at least, worked if you used “decim_cc”.


Its still in there (Didn't remember I added it until you reminded me) so yeah you are right there are exceptions.
David Viens,

Plogue Art et Technologie Inc. Montreal.

http://www.plogue.com


Return to “SFZ Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest